History will be forgotten and repeat itself


If we take down statutes that immortalize Confederate Army personnel then we are guilty of  re-writing history.   2017 Race Riots and Bigotry are doing quite well in the United States of America- Land of the Free!  Statues, naming schools, or towns are symbols that change meaning the further you get away from the beginning of history. Politicians run scared of opposition and cow down to fear of what might be rather than stand up and say “Look! It is what it is!”

The German occupied people removed statues and other reminders of the Hitler-Stalin years. Children need to see these once revered people and understand the political era and agenda that erected the monument in the beginning. Only by understanding the beginning will we hope to understand its ending. I want opportunities to take my grandchildren to see monuments and open a dialog about what happen, when, and where it happened, who was involved,  and most importantly why it happened. So that they can process the information for themselves and form an learned opinion regarding the topic of discussion.

We need the physical reminders or history will be forgotten and doomed to repeat itself.

 

Published by Kat Challis

Kathy Ann (Hughes) Challis Married in 1977 to Robert Challis-Oklahoma - still together Two daughters ages 44y and 40y and six beautiful grandchildren. Live in Texas. I love GOD and live life to its fullest. I am blessed beyond measure. I have family pets that give me a sense of devotion. Writing this blog has been an adventure of internal growth and I hope of interest to you.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Ripple Effects

Serenity is golden... But sometimes a few ripples are needed as proof of life.

Welcome to KatChallis.com'

Loving Embrace Designs, Stories, and Cards

Small Steps

I twist, I turn, I spin, I dance...

Little Fears

Tales of humour, whimsy and courgettes

The Incomplete Verse

Here I share words and illustrations I discover on the journey within the crevices of my mind and the outside world. 💚

Fort Worth Poetry Society

Providing literature to the city of Fort Worth since 1910

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.